Daily Links and Deals: Google Books will now make better suggestions on what to read next

daily_links_1In today’s stories, there is a new Goolge Books recommendation engine. Also, Sainsbury’s is exiting the UK ebook market, HP is nixing third party refills on its printer cartridges and several stories on cable and the battle for Google Fiber In deals, a Hoover WindTunnel vacuum.

Daily Links for Tuesday, September 20, 2016:

Nashville Council Member Admits AT&T & Comcast Wrote The Anti-Google Fiber Bill She Submitted (Techdirt) So who exactly do this lawmakers represent?

Cable lobby tries to make you forget that it represents cable companies (Ars Technica) NCTA no longer a “cable” group, now it’s the Internet & Television Association.

Google Books will now make better suggestions on what to read next (Techcrunch) Google Books is trying to be better than Amazon’s algorithm.

HP detonates its timebomb: printers stop accepting third party ink en masse (Boing Boing) This isn’t the first time that printing cartridge makers have gone after third party ink companies. But with copyright appearing on things like K-cups and tractors, this is getting a little scary.

Sainsbury’s exits digital entertainment, hands over e-book business to Kobo (Techcrunch) I am not sure where this leaves the former Barnes and Noble customers in the UK….

Deals of the Day:

Amazon’s selection of Kindle Daily Deals includes Gone to Soldiers: A Novel by Marge Piercy and Born to Blog: Building Your Blog for Personal and Business Success One Post at a Time by Mark Schaefer and Stanford Smith.

In Today’s Deals, a Hoover Vacuum Cleaner WindTunnel T-Series Rewind Plus Bagless Lightweight Corded Upright vacuum.

The all-new version of the Fire 8 HD tablet is available for pre-order. The tablet is $89.99 and will be released on September 21, 2016.

Amazon has now released the Echo a second color. You can pre-order the Echo now to get it in white. It will be available on September 28, 2016. There is also an  All-New Echo Dot (2nd Generation) which will be available in both black and white and retails for $49.99. The Dot is also being offering in a “Buy 5, get 1 free” six-pack and a ““Buy 10, get 2 free” twelve-pack”. The new Echo Dot will be released on October 20, 2016.

The Barnes and Noble Nook Daily Find is How to Cook Everything Fast: A Better Way to Cook Great Food by Mark Bittman. The Romance Daily Find is Rebel Princess by Evelyn Anthony.

Barnes and Noble also has a selection of NOOK Books Under $2.99.

Kobo’s Daily Deal is Is This Tomorrow A Novel by Caroline Leavitt.  The Extra Daily Deal is Children of Fire (The Chaos Born Book 1) by Drew Karpyshyn.

Also, find select non-fiction titles at the Kobo store for 99 cents until September 26th.

There is also a selection of Great Reads Under $5 and Bargain Reads in Fiction, in Mystery and other genres. The Kobo Aura One (and the Aura Edition 2 e-readers are now available for order at the Kobo store. (The Aura One is out of stock until September 23, 2016.)

iTunes’ Weekly Bestsellers Under $4 includes The Mermaid Chair by Sue Monk Kidd.

Google Books has a selection of Google Books has a selection of Big Books, Big Deals, up to 75% off great reads.

(A note on Daily Deals: All prices current at the time of posting and subject to change. Most items marked Daily Deals are good for only the day posted.

Many large promotions have discount pricing that is set by the publisher. This usually means that titles can be found at a discount price across most platforms (with iTunes sometimes being the exception). If you have a favorite retailer you like to patronize, check the title on that website. There is a good chance that they will be matching the sale price.)


Daily Links are interesting links I discover as I go about my online day. The frequency and number of links posted depend upon the daily news. I also post other, different links of interest on Twitter, Facebook, and on the Google Plus eBook Evangelist Page.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s