Scottish mystery titles on sale

rebusThere are a number of Scottish mystery series titles on sale today with prices starting at 99 cents. This are great for fans of Ian Rankin’s Rebus and Val McDermid’s books.

You can get a bundle of the first 18 Rebus books for $59.99. (That’s an average of $3.33 per book. Most of the Rebus books are priced at $9.99 or more each.)

From the Hamish Macbeth Mysteries by M.C. Beaton:

From Quintin Jardine’s Bob Skinner Mysteries:

I bet none of you could tell that I am a huge fan  of mysteries, right? 🙂

Advertisements

Daily Links and Deals: Lots Of Newspapers Discovering That Paywalls Don’t Work

daily_links_1Today, a look why paywalls aren’t working for newspapers. Also, Google is ditching Hangouts in favor of You Tube Live and launching a Facetime alternative and two articles on how the numbers for cable subscribers and library users in the UK are falling. In deals, luggage and backpack deals and continued back to school deals on Kindles and Fire tablets.

Daily Links for Tuesday, August 16, 2016:

Lots Of Newspapers Discovering That Paywalls Don’t Work (Techdirt) Any more, people read articles, they don’t read magazines and newspapers in the same way they used to….

Google is ditching ‘Hangouts On Air’ in favor of YouTube Live (The Next Web) The end is coming fast.

Every major cable TV company lost subscribers last quarter (Ars Technica) ISPs, however, are doing just fine. Cord-cutters still need the internet.

Google launches Duo, its cross-platform answer to FaceTime, for Android and iOS (PC World) Let’s see if this app can take on Facetime and Skype.

Adult library usage falls ‘significantly’ across all groups (The Bookseller) It is very likely that the catastrophic number of library closings in the UK is affecting this number.

Deals of the Day:

Amazon’s selection of Kindle Daily Deals includes Tidewater Inn (The Hope Beach Series Book 1) by Colleen Coble.

In Today’s Deals, up to 60% off luggage and backpacks and deals on iOttie car mount phone holders.

Back to school savings on select Kindles, Fire tablets and Alexa devices. For a limited time, get $15 off the regular price of the Amazon Tap and $20 off the basic Kindle and the Kindle Paperwhite.  You can also find savings on the Fire HDX 8.9 Tablet (Wi-Fi and 4G LTE),  the Fire HD 6 Tablet and the Fire Kids Edition Tablet.

The Barnes and Noble Nook Daily Find is The Shift: One Nurse, Twelve Hours, Four Patients’ Lives by Theresa Brown.       The Romance Daily Find is Unleashed by Rachel Lacey.

Kobo’s Daily Deal is Blackout: Remembering the Things I Drank to Forget by Sarah Hepola. The Extra Daily Deal is Foods That Cause You to Lose Weight The Negative Calorie Effect by Neal Barnard, M.D.

iTunes’ Weekly Bestsellers Under $4 includes Marley & Me by John Grogan.

Google Books has a Sensational Sci-Fi Sale, a selection of SF books under $4.

(A note on Daily Deals: All prices current at the time of posting and subject to change. Most items marked Daily Deals are good for only the day posted.

Many large promotions have discount pricing that is set by the publisher. This usually means that titles can be found at a discount price across most platforms (with iTunes sometimes being the exception). If you have a favorite retailer you like to patronize, check the title on that website. There is a good chance that they will be matching the sale price.)


Daily Links are interesting links I discover as I go about my online day. The frequency and number of links posted depend upon the daily news. I also post other, different links of interest on Twitter, Facebook, and on the Google Plus eBook Evangelist Page.